Post Thanks / Like

Default Every Day Photos

For this month I would like to walk you through my process that I do to edit almost every sigle pic I shoot and want to use either on my blog, or for scrapbooking, or BOTH!

To show some differing effects let me use two different pictures.

Sorry they're so big. Didn't feel like editing my unedited versions. LOL! The first one was shot in a park with a pretty bush in the background. The second I pinned up a black sheet in my kitchen to use as a backdrop

CROP
    Okay so the first thing I'm going to do is crop. If you're a really good photographer you may be able to skip this step cause you framed your shot just right, well I'm a lousy photographer so I always crop after.

There are so many different ways you can crop a picture! It all depends on what you are trying to "say" with the picture. I'm going to leave them fairly zoomed out cause I want that cute pumpkin and I want to keep his full body in the other. Yo may want to crop right into the face. Just remember if you don't have a great camera, cropping in too close then making it bigger will stretch the pixels and you don't want to do too much of that!

Great! Looking better already!

Levels
    You may notice the color on my park picture look a little dull. Let's see what we can do to liven them up a bit.

First let's play with levels.
    Image - Adjustments - Levels

For the park picture we'll take the little arrows at the bottom of the scale (outlined in red). If we move the one on the right one (black arrow) the picture gets darker. If we move the one on the left (white arrow) the picture gets lighter the arrow in the middle is for your midtones. If you have a scale that is completely flat on one end you'll want to slide it to the bottom of your curve in the scale. Doing it this way rather than in you're brightness section maintains the contrast. I'm going to lighten up my picture just a bit