Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,190
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default I feel like this is going to be such a stupid question but...

    HOW do you use a template?
    For example, the March desktop challenge (held during the month of February), you get a template but I don't know how that works exactly...

    Truthfully, I have been mulling this over for days now, not sure if I should ask because I feel like I should know?

    But I don't.

    Help please?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    9,936
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I feel like this is going to be such a stupid question but...

    Well what I do is drag what I want to use over the layer that I want it in. If its a paper, I "clip" it to the paper spot (whether its the bkgd or a strip or a photo mat or whatever). To do this in CS5 (and a lot of photoshops) I can hover over the layer my paper is in, hold down ALT and click - and it cuts it to the shape under it. I can also use the shortcut ctrl-alt-g. Then to save on file space for my TIFF i'll hit Ctrl-E to merge the two layers down. Then add a shadow and I'm done w/ that layer

    If its an element I resize, rotate, whatever to be in the place I want it to. Add a shadow to the layer and be done.

    Thats templates in a nutshell - did I help at all?!? LOL!
    I am probably neglecting housework so I can be here... My Gallery

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    3,896
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I feel like this is going to be such a stupid question but...

    I found a good video tut on YOuTUbe for you :-)

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rVNwS-oQVsA

    Take a looky at it and come back with any questions and I will try to help you :-)




  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Western Mt of NC
    Posts
    169
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I feel like this is going to be such a stupid question but...

    what program do you use?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    705
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I feel like this is going to be such a stupid question but...

    Yes which program do you use? There are a lot of great tuts out there on how to use one. Trust me, we all start out somewhere and I had to learn to use one just like you when I started.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,190
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I feel like this is going to be such a stupid question but...

    Hopefully by tomorrow morning it'll be PSCS5(Hubs is working on installing, as long as he doesn't get distracted by something else). Will check in in the morning.
    Thank you all for help/links so far.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •