PDA

View Full Version : Help Please- locked files make me sad.



mamaape
10-15-2012, 09:17 PM
Please?

I have a strange problem and am wondering if anyone has encountered it themselves (thus knowing a solution).

I used an external while working on my husbands desktop. Now I have my own laptop and hook the external up to that and access my scrap stash. Everything works perfectly- except when it doesn't.

SOME (not all) files don't open in Photoshop. These same files worked fine when I was using the external on the desktop. Now, when I try to open them in Photoshop on my laptop I get this error:

Could not complete your request because the file is locked, you do not have necessary access permissions, or another program is using the file. Use the 'Properties' command in the Windows Explorer to unlock the file

I tried a few different things and nothing works (I admit I have no clue what I'm doing either).

All I want to do is open my files but it won't let me- saying they are locked, I can't even view any images/previews within the folder either.

:'(

Does anyone have any idea what is going on, why and possibly how I may rectify it?

Please and thanks!
<3

mamaape
10-15-2012, 09:23 PM
It's somehow locked, saying I need permission to use it from this (odd numbered) user? I don't quite understand what is going on and it's becoming increasingly frustrating.

nikkiecole71
10-15-2012, 09:39 PM
Do you have yourself set as administrator?

geswho40
10-15-2012, 10:37 PM
Is it set for "read only" right click...choose properties...and if read only is checked, uncheck it in the program or service you are running it on...just guessing here, I don't know if that's it

Ricki
10-15-2012, 10:59 PM
Could very well be one computer is a different version from the other, thus some files saved in different formats, THUS unable to open. Could be. Could also be the external changed as a result of the 'move'.

Is your laptop new and are both computers up to date? Very important when connecting EHD's.

msbrad
10-16-2012, 06:21 PM
I'm at work right now. But I've had it happen to me, and somewhere...I wrote the steps down.
Mine are for windows 7. It is in the 'read only' as Tony said above, but I know there were more clicks I had to do.
It went into ...dang...
[from brain...]
advanced > security [I think] and then had to add something.
[darn -old brain].
I will look this evening.
m

mamaape
10-16-2012, 06:35 PM
Thank you everyone, and I'll wait for your updated post Michi!

Ricki
10-16-2012, 06:39 PM
Hoping it'll work our quick April!

msbrad
10-16-2012, 11:06 PM
I'm back.
it's long, but not impossible.
1. right click the folder> properties- be sure both 'read only' and 'hidden' are unchecked
2. click advanced > place check mark in the 2nd box that reads "allow files in this folder to have contents indexed in addition to file properties > ok
3. on the top tab >security ...> edit > add > and type in the box the word Everyone
4. click OK...it will return to the previous dialog box with the security tab.
5. click Apply > Click OK [and cross your fingers.

I just did one [to test my brain out with it in front of me and it worked.
Let me know.
m

geswho40
10-16-2012, 11:09 PM
Yep, you were right...more clicks :) Good job with this! Good luck April, I hope this works for you

mamaape
10-17-2012, 12:00 AM
It didn't work :( :(
I'm going to have my super computer Husband check it out too later tonight.

Lisa
10-17-2012, 12:33 AM
You probably have, but just in case ...have you tried restarting your computer?

mamaape
10-17-2012, 12:40 AM
Yup. :(

You probably have, but just in case ...have you tried restarting your computer?

Lisa
10-17-2012, 12:56 AM
Are you using an older version of Photoshop with a newer OS, like Windows 7?

When I was trying to run Photoshop CS on Windows 7, I had some weird issues.

msbrad
10-17-2012, 01:54 AM
Which OS--- and let me look again, in case I typed wrong.
m

mamaape
10-17-2012, 02:07 AM
Windows 7.

OceanWideDesigns
10-17-2012, 02:13 AM
:( I had that happen with my EHD on my mac. I think I had to move everything back and forth from my HD and EHD to get them to unlock.

msbrad
10-17-2012, 02:25 AM
:( I had that happen with my EHD on my mac. I think I had to move everything back and forth from my HD and EHD to get them to unlock.

Ahhh...could be, as my situation occurred when I went from xp to win 7 , and did a big save on the EHD first and then placed all onto the hard drives. I did not think of that Meg. Thanks.
m

mamaape
10-17-2012, 02:48 AM
I can't even move the file from EHD to HD... no joke- it's so freaking weird. I've given up on it for right now. Luckily, no GS stuffs is locked (that I can see!).

trina513
10-17-2012, 03:07 AM
that stinks!! I was giong to suggest trying the unchecking of the "read-only" box as well - but I see that didnt work! Not sure what else to tell you - GOOD LUCK :S Grrr! Frustrating technology sometimes ;)

msbrad
10-17-2012, 03:36 AM
Ok, cannot move files from EHD... Hmmm let me think some more. It has to be ,somewhere ... In shared files ...or admin rights for them.
Question-
What happens if you double click on a locked folder?

I do enjoy a challenge.
m

Ricki
10-17-2012, 09:59 AM
From what I am reading could very well be your ehd needs to be re-formatted. As I wrote, a change can do weird things.

msbrad
10-17-2012, 02:08 PM
See if this helps
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-security/windows-7-professional-64-is-locking-me-out-of-my/fc6ce91d-f8d0-4b43-b3e7-381e6b340970
m

OceanWideDesigns
10-17-2012, 04:10 PM
April if your EHD is a Seagate -- call them. They have FANTASTIC customer support -- and your call goes directly to a call center in America ;)

altimasport
10-31-2012, 07:58 PM
April that's what mine was doing before it died.

StarWarsFans
11-07-2012, 10:50 PM
April that's what mine was doing before it died.

Same here. It's not a good sign. Sorry. :(