PDA

View Full Version : I feel like this is going to be such a stupid question but...



mamaape
02-29-2012, 10:41 PM
HOW do you use a template?
For example, the March desktop challenge (held during the month of February), you get a template but I don't know how that works exactly...

Truthfully, I have been mulling this over for days now, not sure if I should ask because I feel like I should know?

But I don't. :(

Help please?

trina513
02-29-2012, 10:47 PM
Well what I do is drag what I want to use over the layer that I want it in. If its a paper, I "clip" it to the paper spot (whether its the bkgd or a strip or a photo mat or whatever). To do this in CS5 (and a lot of photoshops) I can hover over the layer my paper is in, hold down ALT and click - and it cuts it to the shape under it. I can also use the shortcut ctrl-alt-g. Then to save on file space for my TIFF i'll hit Ctrl-E to merge the two layers down. Then add a shadow and I'm done w/ that layer

If its an element I resize, rotate, whatever to be in the place I want it to. Add a shadow to the layer and be done.

Thats templates in a nutshell - did I help at all?!? LOL!

scrapolina
02-29-2012, 10:51 PM
I found a good video tut on YOuTUbe for you :-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rVNwS-oQVsA

Take a looky at it and come back with any questions and I will try to help you :-)

Cjoy2Day
02-29-2012, 11:03 PM
what program do you use?

lauramarie
02-29-2012, 11:50 PM
Yes which program do you use? There are a lot of great tuts out there on how to use one. Trust me, we all start out somewhere and I had to learn to use one just like you when I started. :)

mamaape
03-01-2012, 04:32 AM
Hopefully by tomorrow morning it'll be PSCS5(Hubs is working on installing, as long as he doesn't get distracted by something else). Will check in in the morning.
Thank you all for help/links so far.